Forum Discussion

5 years ago

FirePower Config Source

The current Cisco IOS config source does not work for firepower.  I tried my own hand at writing a config source for the FirePower series of Cisco Firewalls but ran into a snag and could never get it working.  My only other option is have the device export its config to a FTP server and injest the config that way.  That is not something I really want to do because its not able to scale for us.

I imagine it will become more common to need to back these up in the future as the market share for these devices go up.  

Is this something we could potentially see added?  I opened a support ticket and confirmed this was not presently possible.  I would be willing to provide access to a device for a developer if need be, but this would big win for our clients if we could get this implemented.

5 Replies

Anonymous

What was the snag you ran into? Could you post your progress on the script here as a script block?

• I am not an coder by any means so excuse the terrible coding, but I had this template from another script that I tried to re-use here.  I've never written a groovy script before so I am not sure really how well this existing template really works to be honest.

You do not need to set term length because firepowers always send everything at once regardless of length.  You also need to issue complete commands as it does not accept sh run for example.  You would need to do show running-config.

import com.santaba.agent.groovyapi.expect.Expect;
    // get the hostname and credentials from the device property table
    hostname = hostProps.get("system.hostname");
    userid = hostProps.get("ssh.user");
    passwd = hostProps.get("ssh.pass");
    // initiate an ssh connection to the host using the provided credentials
    ssh_connection = Expect.open(hostname, userid, passwd);
    // wait for the cli prompt, which indicates we've connected
    //ssh_connection.expect("> ");
    sleep(1000);
    // send a command