Forum Discussion

11 months ago

Can token values be evaluated in a complex datapoint?

I would like to construct a conditional datapoint which returns a value if the instance WILDVALUE is equal to a match, otherwise a different value is returned.

Is it possible in expressions or groovy script complex datapoints to include tokens such as ##WILDVALUE##? 

These are some examples which are not currently working:

eq(##WILDVALUE##,"C:\")

or

if(output[##WILDVALUE##]=="C:\") {

return(1);

} else {

return(0);

}

5 Replies

• Hi Jared, Apologies for the delayed response.

It’s not something I have lots of experience with (To be honest I’d usually perform this logic in the collection script itself and not complex datapoint) but I may have a working solution:

Essentially, I explicitly defined the output as a float before dividing as I know Groovy has a tendency to label everything as strings by default.

wv = "##WILDVALUE##"

if(wv=~"AWS"){

bps = output["BYTESRECEIVEDPERSEC"] 

bps_scale = (output["BYTESRECEIVEDPERSEC"].toFloat())/1024

return bps_scale

}

else{

return 0

}

(Note the default datapoint is a derive so I needed to make it a gauge as thats whats being pulled using the OUTPUT[] method.

• yep, to get that in you use:

// get a host level property
    property = hostProps.get("<propname>")
    // get an instance level property
    property = instanceProps.get("<propname>")
    // get a task level property (in case you don't know where the prop might be)
    property = taskProps.get("<propname>")

the value of the property would be stored in the property variable. More here.

• Hi Jared, I created this Groovy scripted Complex datapoint which returns 1 if the wildvalue is “drive1” and 0 otherwise

wv = "##WILDVALUE##"

if(wv=="drive1"){

return 1   

}

else{

return 0

}   

It uses the same approach that can be used to access the WILDVALUE in a standard data collection script.