Safeguards against accidental drag and drop in the Device Tree
The ability to drag and drop items in the device tree in order to reorganize them is a powerful feature, but the staggered manner in which the tree loads and expands on page load "encourages" a user to accidentally move folders and devices around in the tree, which leads to numerous detrimental effects (not the least is having to try and figure out where you accidentally moved them to). Request is to either introduce a safeguard prompt "Are you sure you wish to move X from Y to Z?" for all drag and drop actions within the device tree, or, alternately, introduce a configuration item on folders and devices allowing them to be "protected" against moves --- either adding a safeguard "are you sure...?" prompt for those specific items, or prevent moving them entirely without first taking the action to "unprotect" them.
Matt Whitney
·3 years agoIt's been a long time, any update on this feature request? Is this going to be part of the upcoming uiv4 upgrade to the resource page?
Linus
·8 years agoHello everyone,
Is anyone still interested in a safe-guard or lock function that prevents the accidental/unwanted movement of folders and devices within the device tree?
Thanks,
Linus
JPoffenroth
·8 years agoI'm also wondering if there is an update on this. A lock/unlock button, or safeguard prompt is absolutely needed. We've had folders accidentally moved on several occasions, and fortunately it hasn't resulted in a major issue. However, anything to mitigate the risk is welcomed.
David_WBA
·8 years agoIs there any update on if this has been accepted into development and if so when it is due for release please?
Marie_Buckley
·9 years agoThis would be great as a device tree 'lock' button that you had to flip the switch to be able to move and the flip it to lock again when you've finished. Like Mosh said, drag and drop would be a pain if you had to acknowledge every single one if you were restructuring.
jamiemurphyit
·9 years agoAny update on this?
Kenyon Willis
·9 years agoHi All,
I definitely see the value in this, and I have pushed this suggestion/feedback to our UI and Product teams.
Thanks so much for your feedback!
jamiemurphyit
·9 years agoPLEASE PLEASE bring this as a feature.
This has caused alerts to not be routed because of an accidental change.
Considering the way alert routing works by folder structure it is stupid that folders can be dragged and dropped WITHOUT confirmation.
Mosh
·9 years agoBut please make it so that the confirmation is an option which can be globally disabled in the main settings. We move devices around in groups a lot and it would be a pain if we had to confirm every move.
David_WBA
·9 years agoTotally agree that this feature is required.
A lock property on the group that prevents moving would be ideal.
We have had operational issues caused by accidental movement of groups, which then cause Dashboards and Alert rules to fail. The movement can sometimes be in place for a while before noticed.
I would recommend this is implemented as soon as possible as it undermines the reliability of the product in senior management's eye.
Josh_Selinger
·9 years agoYes this sounds like something that would be helpfull to us as well